Moab City mayoral candidates Emily Niehaus and David Olsen will advance to the general election in November. The candidates were the top two choices of voters who cast their ballots in the city’s Aug. 15 mail-in primary election.

According to unofficial election results from the Moab City Recorder’s Office, Niehaus came in first, with 674 votes. Olsen followed, with 424 votes, while Norm Knapp finished in third place with 361 votes. A fourth candidate – Gerald “Roy” Reed – received 30 votes.

The city’s vote-by-mail general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 7. All registered voters who live within the city limits should receive their general election ballots about two weeks before Election Day, according to the Moab City Recorder’s Office.

In addition to electing a mayor this year, voters will choose two new city council members during the general election on Nov. 7. Brian Ballard, Mike Duncan, Karen Guzman-Newton and Cassie Patterson are running for two at-large, nonpartisan seats on the council to replace outgoing council members Kyle Bailey and Heila Ershadi.

Two candidates advance to Nov. 7 general election

For more information, go to: