[Photo by Rudy Herndon / Moab Sun News]

The Grand County Council voted unanimously on Tuesday, Jan. 3, to appoint Jaylyn Hawks as its new chair. She replaces Elizabeth Tubbs, whose term ended last month after she was defeated in the June 2016 primary election.

Council members were more divided over their choice for vice chair, voting 5-2 to appoint Mary McGann to the position, and rejecting a substitute motion from Rory Paxman to name Curtis Wells as second in command. Paxman’s motion failed by a 2-4 vote, with Evan Clapper abstaining.