Mark your calendars, Moab: The primary election for three at-large seats on the Moab City Council will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 11.

Unlike Grand County, which switched to mail-in voting in 2014, the City of Moab is continuing to hold in-person voting on Election Day. For this year’s primary election, in-person voting will be held on Aug. 11 from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at three polling locations: the Moab City Center at 217 E. Center St., the Grand Center at 182 N. 500 West, the Grand County Courthouse at 125 E. Center St., and the First Baptist Church at 420 MiVida Drive.

Seven primary election candidates are running for three seats on the council. They are Don Cook, Rani Derasary, Kelly Mike Green, Kalen Jones, Tawny Knuteson Boyd, M. Bryon Walston and Christine “Cricket” White-Green. (Two previously announced candidates, Doug McElhaney and Wayne Hoskisson, have formally withdrawn from the race, according to Moab City Recorder Rachel Stenta.)

For more information, visit the city’s official election page at, or call the Moab City Recorder’s Office at 435-259-2683. You can also visit the state’s official election page at

To read the Moab Sun News’ previously published candidate profiles, go to

Seven candidates are vying for three seats on city council